SMUSA | Elections
class="page page-id-111 page-child parent-pageid-83 page-template-default samba_theme wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.1 vc_responsive"


2015 General Election

March 3-4, 2015

Nominations are now open for candidates wishing to run for President or our Board of Directors! If you’re interested in running, nomination forms are available for pick-up at the Information Desk (1st floor of the Student Centre). The nomination period ends at 5:00pm on February 10th.

For more information contact our Chief-Returning-Officer, Samantha Bland or our Deputy-Returning-Officer, George Busulwa during office hours in the society common space on the 5th floor of the student center.

CRO/DRO Office Hours

Monday/Wednesday from 10-1,
Tuesday/Thursday from 12-1 and 2:15-3:45
Fridays from 10-2.

Election Timeline

Jan 26th – Nominations open at 1:00pm
Feb 10th – Nominations close at 5:00pm
Feb 11th – (5:30pm) and 12th (morning) – Training for candidates
Feb 23rd - Campaign starts @ 1:00pm
Date to be determined  – BOD Debate and President Debate
Feb 27th – Meet n’ Greet for SMUSA and candidates
Mar 2nd – Campaign Ends @ 5:00pm
Mar 3rd and 4th (9:00am-5:00pm) – Voting Days
Mar 4th – Winner’s announcement at 7:00pm

Referendum Question

The following issues are up for a referendum. They need a 2/3 majority to pass unless otherwise stated.

-$0.25  increase for World University Service of Canada (currently $2)
-Renew $145 for 8-month U-Pass (needs > 50%)
-$72.50 for 4-month summer U-Pass (if student enrolled in 3 credit hours or more from May-Aug)
-$2 for international students fund


More information to come soon!


View our Elections Policy View more info about the World University Service of Canada

2014 SMUSA Election

A Message from the SMUSA Board of Directors

The results are in!


Congratulations to our new SMUSA President James Patriquin!


Presidential election results requiring a majority of 2/3 (66 %)

Yes 86.7%

No 11.3%

Spoiled 2%

Referendum election results requiring a majority of 2/3 (66 %)


Yes 51.4 %

No 47.4 %

Spoiled 1.2 %

WUSC levy

Yes 61.05 %

No 37.5 %

Spoiled 1.45%


  @home Total  
NO to James Patriquin 75 75 NO to James Patriquin
YES to James Patriquin 571 571 YES to James Patriquin
Spoiled 12 12 Spoiled
Total Ballots Cast 658 658 Total Ballots Cast


Referendum Question #1
Enactus Saint Mary’s is a student run organization that aims to better the quality of life and standard of living of the communities and individuals we work with through various projects focused on the social, economic, and environmental sustainability of our society. Would you like to support Enactus Saint Mary’s by donating $2.00 annually?

  @home Total  
No 309 309 No
Yes 335 335 Yes
Spoiled 7 7 Spoiled
Total Ballots Cast 651 651 Total Ballots Cast


Referendum Question #2
SMU students help sponsor a refugee to earn a degree at Saint Mary’s by paying $2 (Full time) or $1 (Part time) per year. Would you support an increase of 25 cents to this levy to meet the rising costs of the program?

  @home Total  
No 243 243 No
Yes 395 395 Yes
Spoiled 9 9 Spoiled
Total Ballots Cast 647 647 Total Ballots Cast

For any questions regarding the referendum, please contact us at