Saint Mary's has many diverse student societies that run throughout the school year as well as some that carry on their activities through the summer! During the school year anywhere from 80 to 100 societies are active on campus. We have societies that represent various countries and cultures, academic societies, general interest societies, and societies that represent different groups, charities, and organizations.

Here are just a few examples of some of the very active societies on campus:

SMU-Q, Sobey School of Business Society, Enactus, Gaming Society, African Students Society, Saudi Students Society, SMU Speak Up, Engineering Society, Conflict Resolution Society, Environmental Society, Oxfam Society and so many more!

 

All societies wishing to continue activities through the summer months must apply for summer ratification. The ratification form can be found here.

Society NamePresidentEmail
Aborginal society Elora Gehue-Floresgehueeloz@hotmail.com
Art Film SocietyGuillermo Aaristi Suarez artfilm.smu@gmail.com
Cancer Fighting Crew Ashley &jenn Smu.cfc.hfx@gmail.com
SMU Accounting SocietyAnna Ferguson & Brandon Tuppersmu.accsociety@gmail.com
SMU African Student Society (SMASS)Manaf Zoram_zora@hotmail.com
SMU AIESEC HalifaxCeline Rondeau celine.rondeau@aiesec.net
SMU Applied Science Student Society Brendan/Mike Grue/Morgansasstudentsociety@gmail.com
SMU Bangladeshi Students' SocietyAshiqur Rahmansmubss.smu@gmail.com
SMU Biology SocietyPaige Fleetsmubiologysociety@gmail.com
SMU Board Game SocietyJie Lismuboardgamesociety@gmail.com
SMU Caribbean Society (SMUCS)Nicholas Bestsmucaribbean@gmail.com
SMU Catholic Christian Outreach (CCO)Alexis Chutejeff.lavery@cco.ca
SMU Chemistry SocietyNicole Laidlaw & Zachary Konwaysmuchemsoc@gmail.com
SMU Children's Wish Society (CWF SMU)Meagan MacPhersoncwf.smu@gmail.com
SMU Chinese Students AssociationMengqing Chenmqch95@126.com
SMU Computer Science and Mathematics SocietyJoel Kuntzsmu.csm@gmail.com
SMU Conflict Resolution SocietyRyan Morrisonpeacefulschoolsintl@gmail.com
SMU D. Hope Simpson Geology SocietyAmara Ellssmugeosociety@gmail.com
SMU Drama Societysmudramasociety@gmail.com
SMU Enactus SocietyBridget Stevens & Ali Algermoziinfo@enactussmu.ca
SMU Engineering Society (SMU ENG SOC)Samantha Higginssmuengsoc@gmail.com
SMU Environmental Society (SMUES)Joy Samuelsmues@smu.ca
SMU Fine Arts Soceity (SMUFAS)Yasmin Phillipsmu.fas.saintmarysfinearts@outlook.com
SMU Forensics SocietyBrandon Logansmuforensics.society@gmail.com
smu Gaming Society Kiernan Mooresmugamingsociety@gmail.com
SMU Graduation Committee Society (SGM)Makenzie Wayvpevents.smusa@smu.ca
SMU Habitat SocietySimone Mutabazismuhabitatsociety@gmail.com
SMU History SocietyBreanna Dentonsmuhistory@gmail.com
SMU Internatonal Development Studies Grade Society (IDS)Shannon Gavrilchuksmu.idsgradsociety@gmail.com
SMU Japanese Canadian Cultural Exchange Society (JCCES)Jennifer ForwardJCCES2015.2016@gmail.com
SMU Medical Society (SMS)Allison Vergesmumedsociety@gmail.com
SMU Model UN SocietyAlexander Isenoralex.isenor@gmail.com
SMU Muslim Assocation (SMU MSA)Abdallah Essaabdullah.adam112@gmail.com
SMU Navigators International Commuity (NIC)Kojo Acquahbryannajew@gmail.com
SMU News Lounge SocietyYeonsu Koh and Salam ElbornoNewslounge2015@gmail.com
SMU Organization of Mature and Part-time Students Society (OPTAMUS)Shannon Hansenoptamussmu@gmail.com
SMU Oxfam SocietyAmy Rensinksmuoxfam@gmail.com
SMU Palestinian Society Tamer Shawa palestinian.students.smu@hotmail.com
SMU Parks CanadaJenna Miller smu.parkscanada@gmail.com
SMU Philosophy Society Daniel Trainor-Mckinnonsmuphilsociety@gmail.com
SMU Photography SocietyInga Rademakersmuphotography@gmail.com
SMU Power to Change (SMU P2C)Chris MacKinnonp2csmu@gmail.com
SMU Pre-law SocietyDana Doswellsmuprelaw@gmail.com
SMU Psychology SocietyKarylyn Madillsmupsychsociety@gmail.com
SMU Saudi Students SocietyHomood Alanazisss.smusa@hotmail.com
SMU Sense (SMUSense)Ian Poiriersmusense@gmail.com
SMU ShineramaAlyson Colbornesmushinerama@gmail.com
SMU Sobey MBA SocietyJeff BarsalousobeyMBA2016@gmail.com
SMU Sobey School of Business Commerce Society (SSBCS)Sarah Jamercommercesociety.smu@gmail.com
SMU Sociology & Criminology Student SocietyKatie McEachernsmusoccrimsociety@gmail.com
SMU Undergraduate International Development Student Society (IDS)Erika MacDonaldIds.smu@gmail.com
SMU Women's CentreKaterina Sushkosmu.womenscentre@gmail.com
SMU World University Service of Canada (WUSC)Mutsa Simangowusc@smu.ca
SMU Young Liberals SMUYLDominick DesjardinsSMUliberals@gmail.com
SMU's Voice for Neglected Tropical Diseases (SMU's voice for NTD's)Maheshi Dharmasirivoiceforntd@gmail.com
SMU: Speak UpSamantha Burnsspeakupsmu@gmail.com
SMUQ: LGBTQIAKirsten Paula & Donald KeddySMUQueersociety@gmail.com